Tags

, , , ,

I have finished the Star Was prequels.

So much stuff running through my mind. So many feelings all at once.

First of all, my melancholic side has to say that these movies were not quite as good as the originals.

The first two movies were pretty “meh”. They got better as they went along.

The third movie was incredibly intense and tragic. Tragedy doesn’t turn me off; quite the opposite. One reason I love Lord of the Rings is how it grapples with tragedy and loss.

“Better to go to the house of mourning Than to go to the house of feasting For that is the end of all men; And the living will take it to heart. Sorrow is better than laughter For by a sad countenance the heart is made better.”

-Ecclesiastes 7:2-3

And it was good to reflect on the pain and sorrow that Annakin’s anger and Palpatine’s greed wrought. To realise that sometimes good people die, and it’s not always in a blaze of glory like you see in the movies: Mace Windu, the Jedi Council, the Jedi younglings, Senator Aldemaar, Luke’s Uncle Lars and Padme were all murdered before the movies end. And they never got to see justice triumph over evil.

It was good to think about those things. But there was something else about the Revenge of the Sith. Something even bigger.

Shakespeare once wrote:

“For this revolt of thine, methinks, is like Another fall of man.”-Henry V, Act II, Scene 3.

When I first saw Annakin Skywalker as a cute little kid in the very first movie, and realised that he would turn into the horrible war criminal Darth Vader, I was, I don’t know- shocked- startled- stirred- I was struck.

Nine year old Annakin Skywalker was so lovable. But in little over a decade he turned into a monster. He let his anger kill dozens of innocent people- men, women, children. He tried to throttle his pregnant wife, he turned on his friends and his mentors. He fell.

It’s a funny word to use for moral degradation, isn’t it? He fell. What imagery does that make you think of? Every time I read it I see in my mind’s eye something like a Balrog from Lord of the Rings, plummeting down into the depths of an abyss from a great height. Falling speaks of decline, slipping, degrading, becoming much less than what you once were.

“And He said to them, “I saw Satan fall like lightning from heaven.” -Luke 10: 18

Padme pleaded with Annakin to stop his evil ways. “You’re a good person” she pleaded. But Annakin turned away. He fell.

You were the chosen one! You were meant to restore balance to the force … You were meant to destroy the Sith, not join them!”

-Obi-wan Kenobi

Annakin is all of us. We are no longer what we were meant to be. We were meant to love God, not to fight Him. But we sinned at Eden, and we continue sinning every day. We fell from the good thing that God made us to be.

I nearly want to watch the fourth, fifth and sixth movies now, to watch Luke Skywalker save his dad. I have watched the prequels, I have walked in the garden and seen the fall. Now I want to see Calvary and the tombstone rolled away. I want to see redemption.

But that’s not the way it works. Star Wars said Luke could save Annakin, but man can’t save man. We need the heroics of the God-man Jesus Christ, not the heroism of us or our friends, to pull us out of the mess of our own making.

Good, Star Wars was. But the whole truth, it was not. 😉

